Monday, July 30, 2012

Project #2: Tie / Brushes

Project 2 – Brushes / History Palette / Layers, Tie Photo

For this project, we are going to be painting dots on an orange tie.  We will be learning how to make selections using the magic wand tool, how to create new layers, how to utilize the brush tool, and how to work with the History palette.

  1. Open the “2_Tie.jpg” image in Photoshop
  2. Select the Magic Wand tool from the toolbox.  It is the fourth tool down, and remember, it may be hidden by another tool with similar characteristics.
  3. Move the cursor into the image and click once over top of the orange tie.
  4. Notice that only part of the orange tie is selected, and not the entire tie.  To include the other part in our selection, be sure to select the “Add to selection” box found in the options bar.  It is the second box from the left of the box of four in the left part of the options bar.  Click once on the remaining orange that has not been selected. 
(An alternative to choosing the “add to selection” tool in the options bar is to simply hold down the shift key and click on the other part of the tie.  This is a keyboard shortcut that will add to your existing selection just as holding down the option key will subtract from it.  In fact, when either of these keys are depressed, you will notice your cursor icon for the magic wand tool includes a minus sign - or an add sign +.)  Now the entire orange tie is selected which will restrict our brush tool to only that selected area.
  1. Now choose the brush tool from the toolbox.  (Or press B as a keyboard shortcut!)
  2. In the brush tool options bar click the brush size to reveal the brushes palette.  Using the sliders, change the master diameter to 65 pixels and keep the Hardness set to 0%.
  3. Move the pointer over the tie so it appears as a circle with the diameter you selected.  If you were to change the diameter of the brush, the cursor size when over the image window would also change to reflect the new size.
  4. Draw a stripe anywhere inside the selection.  Notice how the stripe remains within the selection and does not go outside of it!
  5. Oops, wait a second – we were supposed to draw dots not stripes.  Go to the Edit menu and choose Undo Brush Tool.  This will undo your last step in Photoshop.  You can also use the keyboard shortcut of Command Z (pressing the open-apple key and the Z key together).
  6. Now draw a stripe again on the orange tie.
  7. Oops – we did it again.  Instead of undoing our brush stroke, why don’t we select the eraser tool (11 down in the toolbox) and go over the image to draw an eraser stroke over the stripe.  Notice it does not erase the stripe, but instead erases the whole image layer back to whatever color our background color is in the toolbox.
  8. Now we have made a wrong brush stroke and we have tried to erase it improperly.  We could go to Edit>Undo, but this will only undo the eraser tool and not the brush stroke.  (We could also go to the Edit menu and select Step Backward a couple of times to undo the last two steps.  This will allow you to undo multiple states, but it can be tedious if you screw up a lot!)
  9. Now go to the History palette and notice that there is a list of “history states” or recordings of every step you have done since opening the image.  By clicking once on an earlier history state, you are essentially erasing back to an earlier time.  Click once on the line that says “Magic Wand” two history states up.  You have now stepped back two history states and any new action you take will be recorded in place of the grayed out history states.
  10. So as not to screw up again, go to the Layer menu and choose New then Layer.  Type in Dots when the new layer menu pops up asking you what to name your layer and then click OK.  A new blank layer appears above our background image layer and is automatically selected for us in the layers palette.  This is what we will use to create the dots.
  11. Select the brush tool if it is not already selected and continue to place dots of any size onto the tie, within your selection, and notice that they are painted onto the new layer.  If you screw up, use the history palette to back up and start again, or you can now try the eraser tool to see if it works.  (You’ll notice it will since it will only erase elements on the currently selected layer and no other layers below or above it!)
  12. Continue making dots on the tie and when you have finished, flatten the layers into one layer by choosing Flatten Image from the Layer menu.
  13. Once your image is flattened, go to the File menu and choose Save As.  Name the file “2_YourName”.  Also change the file format to JPEG and choose where to save the image to (either your flash drive or the desktop).  Click OK.  When the JPEG window opens, choose a quality level of 12 and click OK.
  14. Upload the file using Transport as discussed in class and you are done!
Project #2 Image

Tuesday 7/31/12: Layers + Selections

"As an artist, I work to gain technical skill in order to become more fluid, more expressive and more creative in my craft. Technique is always at the service of creativity." - Evan Chong

"A toast to film? You bet. But don't forget the Photoshop chaser." - Herbert Keppler; Film vs. Photoshop. (Popular Photography & Imaging, March 2006)

© Monte Isom

© Monte Isom

© Monte Isom


File Formats
  • JPEG (.jpg = Joint Photographic Expert Group): Compresses photos into a smaller file size, but degrades photo quality.  Good for email or web and is recognized by almost all software programs.
  • TIFF (.tif = Tagged Image File Format): Larger file size, but good image quality.  Best for printing.  Tiff file can be saved with or without layers and is recognized by many software programs.
  • RAW (.raw/.cr2/.nef/... = Raw) = Most flexible file format for photographers since no data has been processed.  But you must process a file into a workable file format before using...which requires more skill and knowledge.
  • PSD (.psd = Photoshop Document):  Good for layers, but large file size and can only be opened in PS.

Saving Image Files Recap:
  •  For Print = Tiff @ 300dpi
  • For Web or Email = Jpeg @ 72dpi
  • With Layers = PSD @ optimal resolution (usually 300dpi)


Great article explaining the differences in File Formats:
http://www.digitalphotopro.com/business/hi-tech-studio-file-format-decoder-ring.html


Layers

Layers are the backbone of Photoshop.  New elements can be placed on individual layers and each layer can be edited and manipulated without effecting any other layer.  An original image starts off with only a single layer titled background.  You can then add these additional layers:

  • New Blank Layer
  • Text Layer
  • Another Image Layer
  • Adjustment Layer

Sunday, July 29, 2012

Photoshop Handouts



Tool Explanation

PS CS4 Keyboard Shortcuts






 





Project #1: Coin

Project 1 – Basic Selections and Adjustments, Coin Photo

  1. Open the “1_Coin.jpg” image in Photoshop
  2. Using the Crop tool, crop the white background from the image and rotate the image so that it is straight.  Starting from the top left of the image, drag a rectangle around the photo.  Moving the cursor outside of the bounding box, click and rotate the crop box so that the edges are parallel with the image.  Grab any corner toggle point to resize the box so that it is just inside of the photo edges.  Commit the crop by hitting the enter/return key or by clicking the check mark in the options bar. 
  3. Go to the Image window and pull down to Image Size (Image>Image Size).  With Resample Image unchecked (so that all values are linked to avoid interpolation), change the resolution to 300 ppi (the optimal resolution for print).  Then, check both the Resample Image and the Constrain Proportions boxes so that only the Width and Height are linked.  Change the value of the Height to 3 inches (and the Width will automatically change to constrain your image proportions!).  Notice how the file size or Pixel Dimensions go lower since we are making the image size lower while keeping the resolution the same.  Remember, this will not create a loss in image quality because we are not interpolating or resing up.  Click OK.
  4. Using the Zoom tool, drag a rectangle to enclose the area of the image that includes the French coin that you will spotlight.  The image enlarges so that the area you enclosed in the rectangle now fills the entire image window.
  5. Click and hold down the mouse button over the Rectangular Marquee tool found two tools down in the toolbox.  (Remember just moving the cursor over the tool and pausing will show the tooltip revealing the name of the tool).  While holding down the mouse button, a pop-up list of hidden tools appears.  Scroll over top and release the mouse on the Elliptical Marquee tool to select it.
  6. Move the cursor over the image window so that it appears as cross hairs (+) and move it to the upper left side of the French coin.
  7. Drag the pointer down and to the right to draw an ellipse around the coin and then release the mouse button.  An animated dashed line indicates that the area inside of it is selected.  Only the image area within the selection will be editable.
  8. Move the pointer inside of the elliptical selection so that the pointer appears as an arrow with a small rectangle.  Drag the selection so that it is centered over the French coin.  Notice when you drag the selection, only the selection is moved and not the image contents within it.  (In order to do that, you need to select the Move tool!).
  9. Not a perfect selection is it?  We will now deselect the selection in order to create a better one.  Do one of the following; 1 - click anywhere in the image outside of the selection, 2 – Choose Select > Deselect (Deselect from the select menu), 3 – Use the keyboard shortcut of Command+D (Hold the open-apple key down along with the D key).
  10. Postion the Elliptical Marquee pointer in the center of the French coin.  While pressing the Option and the Shift keys, drag outward from the center of the coin until the circle completely closes the coin.  (The option key drags an ellipse from the center of your pointer and the shift key constrains the proportions to a perfect circle!).  Carefully release the mouse button first followed by the keyboard keys.  If you are not satisfied, deselect and try again.  (Another keyboard trick to move your selection while drawing it is to hold a third key down – the space bar – while making your selection to adjust its position.  Release just the space bar when you are satisfied with the position).
  11. Now, we are going to affect the tone of only the background behind the coin in order to make the coin stand out more.  Right now we have only the coin selected, so any tone changes will happen to only the coin.  We need to inverse the selection so that everything but the coin is selected.  This is easy – go to Select > Inverse.
  12. Now that we have a proper selection, in order to change the tone go to Image > Adjustments > Brightness/Contrast.  In the window, decrease the brightness (maybe to  -100) and decrease the contrast (to around -25) and select OK.  Continue playing with other adjustment, such as Hue/Saturation, found under the Image > Adjustments menu until you are satisfied with the image. 
  13. Choose Select > Deselect to deselect your selection (or any other method).
  14. Save your changes by going to File > Save As.  Name your image “1 _YourName”, change the file format to JPEG and choose a place to save it to (such as the desktop, or your flash drive).  After clicking Save, in the next window choose a quality level of 12 and click OK.
Submit your image by “transporting” it as discussed in class and you are done!  Good job.

Project #1 Image

Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Monday 7/30/12: PS Intro

Welcome NYU Photoshop Intensive!



I'm very much looking forward to sharing my knowledge of Photoshop with you, and I can only hope you are just as excited to utilize and explore PS as a creative tool in the world of photography!

Before getting started, I wanted to point out that I like to begin each class with a quote that relates to that week's discussion material.  I think it's a fun way to introduce the lecture and I hope you enjoy them.  Below is our first quote, surprisingly enough not from a photographer but from Vincent Versace.  I think it sums up my philosophy about Photoshop, and shares with you how I'll approach teaching the course!  You'll also find I usually can't narrow it down to just one quote either...and they're often contradictory...so enjoy and decipher them as you see fit!
 
"Photoshop is not a verb. It is a noun. It is the means to an end, not the end itself." - Vincent Versace

"Photoshop – that which produces a great photograph from an average photographer." - Frank Karycinski


Bridge

Adobe Bridge is an organizational software that comes bundled with Photoshop and the Adobe Creative Suite package.  Think of it as a more robust file browser...like a basic mac window that's been spiced up!  Among other things, Bridge allows you to rename and organize files, assign colored labels or star ratings to images, edit the embedded metadata, and output to a pdf or web gallery.  Image files can also be shown in different sized thumbnails, slide shows or lists - making it more advantageous than a basic mac window for photographers and designers.

Adobe Bridge Interface

Photoshop

Adobe Photoshop is the industry leader in image-editing software.  It allows you to enhance, manipulate, and create imagery with endless possibilities!  


Adobe Photoshop Interface

Photoshop Tools


Pixel = Picture Element 
(Smallest square of color that makes up your image)

 


Resolution = total # of pixels in your image


Resolution can be defined by:
  • Dimension:  5184 x 3456
  • Overall Pixels: 17,915,904
  • Megapixel Value:  18MP

Output Resolutions
Optimal Output Resolution for PRINT = 300dpi
Optimal Output Resolution for MONITOR = 72ppi


File Formats
  • PSD (.psd = Photoshop Document):  Good for layers, but large file size and can only be opened in PS.
  • JPEG (.jpg = Joint Photographic Expert Group): Compresses photos into a smaller file size, but degrades photo quality.  Good for email or web and is recognized by almost all software programs.
  • TIFF (.tif = Tagged Image File Format): Larger file size, but good image quality.  Best for printing.  Tiff file can be saved with or without layers and is recognized by many software programs.
  • RAW (.raw/.cr2/.nef/... = Raw) = Most flexible file format for photographers since no data has been processed.  But you must process a file into a workable file format before using...which requires more skill and knowledge.

Saving Image Files Recap:
  •  For Print = Tiff @ 300dpi
  • For Web or Email = Jpeg @ 72dpi
  • With Layers = PSD @ optimal resolution (usually 300dpi)


Great article explaining the differences in File Formats:
http://www.digitalphotopro.com/business/hi-tech-studio-file-format-decoder-ring.html

SYLLABUS

Below are some excerpts from the course syllabus.  
Images of the full syllabus can be clicked on and viewed below.

Course Description:

           Take charge of your images with Photoshop--the leading image creation, correction, and manipulation software--used to prepare images for multimedia, websites, and print projects. Become proficient in image preparation and selection techniques through hands-on practice. Discover resizing, resampling, transforming, cropping, exporting, color modes, and file formats. Learn how to prepare work for print, Web, and graphic presentations. Building on these basics, learn intermediate manipulation functions including layers, textures, filters, layer styles and masks, adjustment layers, clipping groups, blending modes, alpha channels, useful correction techniques, photo compositing, vector paths, and lighting effects.     

Course Objectives: 

This course will give the student a foundational understanding of the Adobe Photoshop program and how Photoshop tools can enhance, retouch and prepare photographs for a variety of output usages. 

At the conclusion of this course, the student will have:
·    Gained a working knowledge of the Adobe Photoshop program software
·    Created a thoughtful connection between the ethics of image design and image manipulation
·    Established a foundational understanding of the technical aspects of digital image workflow through lectures, demonstrations, and assignments
·    Become skilled in downloading imagery from either a scanner or a digital camera into a computer, editing it via Adobe Photoshop, and preparing it for digital output 
·    Acquired first hand experience and knowledge of Mac platform computer systems


 

Martin Evening Adobe Photoshop CS6 for Photographers, Focal Press, May 2012  ~$32

Scott Kelby The Adobe Photoshop CS6 Book for Digital Photographers, New Riders, July 2012 ~$32

Adobe Creative Team Adobe Photoshop CS6 Classroom In A Book, Adobe Press, June 2012  ~$29

Elaine Weinmann & Peter Lourekas Photoshop CS6, Visual QuickStart Guide, June 2012  ~$24